Banana-Carrot Cupcakes with Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

Tonight I had a frighteningly delicious experience with a cupcake. I had just whipped up a batch and sat down to taste-test half of one of them when suddenly after my first bit I looked down and my whole cupcake was gone! It was so surprisingly scrumtious that I had apparently devoured the entire thing before I could stop myself. These are seriously that good.

This recipe came from an excess of both carrots and bananas…and from my desire to please my lovely boyfriend :) (carrot cake is his favorite).

*WARNING: These cupcakes are NOT healthified, unless you count the bananas and carrots as little extra fruit and veggies ;)

One of the best parts…this whole recipe only took me about 30 minutes to whip up! (The frosting came about much later but only took about 20 minutes)

Banana-Carrot Cupcakes

1.5 cups flour

1/4 tsp baking soda

1 tsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

3/4 cup brown sugar

2 eggs beaten

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1 tsp vanilla

2 ripe bananas, mashed

3 medium carrots, grated

In a big bowl, combine the first few ingredients until the salt and mix together thoroughly. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs and add in the mashed bananas, grated carrots, vanilla, oil, and vanilla. Combine both bowls, but do not over-mix. Bake at 350 for about  30 minutes. Makes 12 big cupcakes.

Maple Cream Cheese Frosting

3/4 cup cream cheese

1 tsp vanilla

1 Tbsp maple syrup

1 cup powdered sugar

Combine all ingredients and mix until smooth.

After I frosted the cupcakes I garnished them with cinnamon and sugar and a small shaving of carrot! Be careful when you taste-test, your cupcake might instantly disappear in your hand…and end up on your face :0

5 responses

  1. Hi! Seen your comment on ELR about making Squash muffins and came to check you out….and then I found these gems!! So good!

    …and not healthy..pshhwaf! – flour, sugar, oil? Major food groups ;)

    September 30, 2010 at 2:14 PM

  2. Banana and carrot these are perfect fruits to avoid cancer. This is really a healthy recipe. I will surely make this with my kids. Putting some topping will make my kids enjoy when we are doing this.

    October 7, 2010 at 7:00 PM

  3. What a nutritious cupcake. I should try this one to make my kids eat veggies. Lol. They will be surprised if they know there are carrots on the recipe. Thanks for sharing this dietary recipe.

    October 16, 2010 at 3:04 AM

  4. Hello – I just wanted to let you know that I made these today and they were fantastic! I made a few changes to our liking: replaced 1/2 cup of the white flour with whole wheat and only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I also didn’t make frosting because we prefer sweet breads like these with just a little butter or honey. I highly recommend that everyone try these out – one of the best muffin recipes I’ve used in years.

    September 11, 2011 at 9:40 PM

  5. Pingback: Banana Carrot Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting « Food Challenge: ACCEPTED

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 189 other followers