Health

Peanut Butter…euphoria in a jar.

My name is Katie, and I am a self-proclaimed .peanut. butter. addict. It’s creamy, it’s gooey, it’s sweet and salty and OH SO GOOD!

But beware of the ugly lurking fake peanut butters out there(reduced fat nonsense) that can cloud your ultimate peanut butter experience and deter you from the real stuff. REAL peanut butter is SO DELICIOUS.  Do yourself a favor, don’t buy the Jiffy crap with all the chemicals and yucky texture, invest in a nice jar of all natural (organic if you can offord it) straight-from-the-peanuts, no chemicals or sugars added, PEANUT BUTTER! Your mouth will thank you.

My peanut butter history goes back to the days of ear infections…yes…when I was  a kid I got really bad ear infections and my Dad would crush up my pills in peanut butter and make me eat it. This completely ruined my appetite for peanut butter and for about 10 years I could not and would not eat it… at all. I know, it sounds crazy but it’s true. THEN, in high school I finally took out a spoon, opened the jar and dove in. I WAS IN LOVE AGAIN! From then on I was strictly creamy, but in the past year I have really explored the peanut butter industry and have found so many new flavors, colors, textures and brands and I will now share with you my favorites!!

My most recent find:

Peanut Butter & Company Dark Chocolate DreamsDSC00595

This nut butter blends the two best flavors on earth; peanut butter and dark chocolate. It is smooth and not to sweet with tiny bits of dark chocolate swirled throughout. HEAVEN!

Peanut Butter & Company White Chocolate Wonderful

DSC00596 This magical concoction is a very sweet blend of peanut butter and white chocolate.

Both of these flavors are more like dessert peanut butters but this brand also offers Cinnamon Raisin Swirl which is my all time favorite and Mighty Maple which earns a decent second place in my book. 🙂 Also PB & Co. is all natural and uses no hydrogenated oils. These two jars were brought to my by my lovely brother for my birthday straight from the NYC  PB & CO. Cafe.

My go-to healthy peanut butter for morning engligh muffins is none other than Teddie’s All Natural Peanut Butter with Flaxseed

This peanut butter is for the experienced peanut butter user, it has a very intense peanut flavor, is not very sweet and has flax seeds which add a great nutty texture and DSC00598tons of healthy ALA Omega-3’s!

Oh and as for the dangerous fat and calorie content of peanut butter that scares dieters away, peanut butter is one of the healthiest forms of protein, fiber and healthy fats so don’t be afraid! Grab a spoon and indulge(in moderation)!

So…until next time…EAT PEANUT BUTTER!!! 🙂


-Katie

Sweat everyday, and remember:

Stay FabulousFit, and Full

Leave a Reply

