Fitness · Health · Recipes

Black Bean Brownies… surprisingly delicious!

Yes I said it…Black Bean Brownies were on the menu this week. Truthfully when I first heard of this healthified baked good I almost threw up a little bit. I couldn’t imagine these tasting anything like something that I would want to eat, no matter how healthy they were. However, this week I was faced with a huge 25 ounce can of black beans, an insatiable hunger (due to intense amounts of rehearsal) and a basic need for something chocolate (when is that not the case?? :). So I scoured the internet to find the best recipe that worked with the ingredients I had available…. After some trouble with using a blender to puree the beans (don’t have a food processor at school) and lots and lots of skepticism, I pulled the brownies out of the oven, took a small bite and….they really weren’t bad!

I have to say that if I were not used to eating healthy foods I would probably not enjoy this brownie. But for me the benefits of a no-flour, low sugar, low fat, high protein and high fiber BROWNIE made of VEGETABLES that actually tasted pretty delicious greatly outweighs the weirdness of bighting into a bean brownie. I had some of my roomates try them and they said that if I hadn’t told them they had beans in them that they wouldn’t have even noticed! One of my roommates was even raving about how good they were! So I give you this recipe with caution because If you or your family is not accustomed  to healthy baked goods they may not enjoy this type of brownie, but for the rest of us…it is a a chocolaty powerhouse of nutrients disguised as a BROWNIE!

Black Bean Brownies

Ingredients:

2 cups black beans

3 eggs

1 Tbsp veg. oil

2 Tbsp non-fat yogurt

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup unsweetened dark cocoa

1.5 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp baking powder

pinch of salt

1/4 cup dark chocolate chips

1/4 cup choppoed walnuts

Instructions: First rinse and drain beans thoroughly. Then puree beans in a mixer or food processor. In a large bowl combine beans and all other ingredients, mix well. Spray a 9×13 inch pan with cooking spray, layer in brownies and bake at 350 for 25 to 30 minutes. Serves 24.

Nutritional Info: serving size 1 brownie (1/24)

Calories 75

Fiber 2 grams

Protein 3 grams

Enjoy!

This recipe was created after a very very LOOOOOOONG week of exams and rehearsals, so it was great to relax and just bake for an afternoon. Our show is coming up in 4 weeks so there will be new aerial pictures to follow!

Question: What is the weirdest food combinations you have ever eaten and were they any good??


Sweat everyday, and remember:

Stay FabulousFit, andFull

-Katie

***EDITED***

I made these brownies again last night and made a few modifications (also a smaller batch) and they came out SO MUCH BETTER!! They were moist and fluffy and flavorful. Here is the new recipe:

Black Bean Brownies (improved)

1 cup black beans

1 egg

1 Tbsp oil

1 Tbsp skim milk

1 Tbsp flax

1/2 Tbsp chia seeds

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp baking powder

pinch salt

1/8 cup chocolate chips

1/8 cup walnuts

Directions: same as before!

Leave a Reply

