Health · Recipes

St.Patrick’s Day Pumpkin Peanut Butter Cupcakes

Happy St.Patrick’s Day blogworld! In the spirit of St.Patrick’s Day I decided to experiment with some canned pumkin and ended up creating healthy Pumpkin Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Frosting. Pumpkin Cupcakes:

1 cup white whole wheat flour

1/2 Tbsp baking powder

1 tsp cinnamon

1/4 tsp nutmeg

1/8 tsp salt

1/8 tsp baking soda

1/2 cup brown sugar

1 cup canned pumpkin

1 egg

2 Tbsp butter

1 tsp vanilla.

Directions: Combine flour, bp, spices, salt and bs. Beat egg, sugar, butter, vanilla and pumpkin until fluffy. Mix ingredients together and add raisins, nuts or chocolate chips!

I added raisins to half of the batter because I know my dad really like that, but I left half without so that I could use my Dark Chocolate Dreams peanut butter as frosting (I don’t think chocolate and raisins go together well for some reason?).

Peanut Butter Frosting:

1 Tbsp butter

1/4 cup peanut butter

2 Tbsp milk (as needed)

1/3 cup confectioners sugar

1tsp vanilla

Mix all ingredients together until smooth and creamy and dreamy! πŸ™‚

I frosted the cupcakes that contained raisins with the Peanut Butter frosting and the other half with Dark Chocolate Dreams PB that I melted in the microwave before frosting. Then I mixed some coconut with green food colering and sprinkled it on the cupcakes for some Irish cheer! πŸ™‚

The cupcakes could have been sweeter and I should have used half whole wheat and half white flour but they were still pretty tasty. If you are looking for more of a “cupcake” taste rather than healthy muffin, I would recommend doing that. The frosting was delicious though!

Hope everyone has a fun St.Patty’s Day!

-Katie

Leave a Reply

