Health

The Tavern at River’s Edge

I recently had the pleasure of a night out with my favorite person

We went to dinner at The Tavern in Exeter, NH. We had heard a lot of great things about this place so we got a gift certificate on Restaurant.com to try it out. It was a bit hard to find, but as we walked down the quaint streets of downtown Exeter we were all of a sudden hit with this huge cloud of delicious food smells! We thought it must be nearby, so we took the nearest door down some stairs that led into the underground, dimly lit restaurant. The atmosphere was upscale, but still family friendly, and had windows looking out onto the Exeter River.

Shawn was absolutly STARVING at this point so he ordered the veggie nachos, which turned out to be some of the best nachos we have ever had. I know, not so classy…but good when you are starving. I think the chips were freshly made tortilla chips. YuMM!

We were also presented with a warm baguette with real butter and an olive oil and herb dipping plate (Shawn’s favorite), which is a sure sign of a good restaurant in our opinion. For an entree I ordered the Lobster Risotto with asparagus and mushrooms. This was my first experience with any risotto so I was a bit hesitant, but it turned out to be one of the MOST DELICIOUS meals I have ever had. The risotto was so creamy and cheesy and MMMMM! Definitely not the healthiest dinner I ever had, but absolutely worth the extra calories.

Shawn went for the most filling option because of his insane hunger and ordered a hamburger topped with mushrooms, bacon and cheese with a side of fries and homemade ketchip. Not as exciting and not as tantalizing for his taste buds either 😉 I don’t think it was his favorite hamburger he ever had, because it was a bit overdone for his liking despite him saying “medium rare,” but that always happens to us. I tasted it and thought it had a lot of flavor going on despite its crispy outside.

At this point, we were both full beyond the possibility for dessert so we slowly made our way down the street to our car, which luckily was not parked far away. I am a new fan of risotto! It is a food group that no one should be deprived of, so go try it if you haven’t yet! Overall, The Tavern truly lived up to all the gossip and I would really recommend it for a date night out 🙂

One thought on “The Tavern at River’s Edge

  1. Hi – thanks for stopping by my blog! I am excited to see all these NH reviews… I love the Tavern – it’s one of the few non-Asian restaurants in Exeter. Looking forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

