Health · Motivation · Recipes

Oatmeal-Raisin Bites and The Girls

Hello there and Happy almost-New Years Eve!

In the spirit of New Years resolutions and healthy living after the sweets of the holidays, I made some delicious cookies!

But actually, these cookies are a request from my mom as she is part of the Weight Watchers program (doing very well at it!) and she received this recipe card at her last meeting. I made a few modifications, but note that it is based off of a Weight Watchers Points Plus recipe. According to them it is 2 points per serving. I don’t really know what that means nutrition wise, but if it works for some people to get healthy then all power to ya! I also split the batch into 3/4 and 1/4. In the larger part I added raisins only( for my mom) and in the smaller part I added chocolate chips and walnuts (for myself). My cookies are probably not within the 2 point value, but I’m not on Weight Watchers and I generally  like my cookies loaded with chocolate, nuts, coconut, peanut butter and whatever else I can scrounge up in the pantry. I thought I was rather conservative with this batch :).

Oatmeal-Raisin Bites

1.5 cups rolled oats

3/4 cup whole-wheat flour

1/2 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup butter, softened

1/2 cup brown sugar, packed

1/4 cup sugar

1 large egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

Mom’s batch: 1/2 cup raisins

Katie’s batch: 1/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1/4 cup walnuts

Mix all dry ingredients and set aside. Cream butter and sugars and add vanilla and egg. Mix in dry ingredients. (Separate batch into sections at this point if you want different cookie variations). Add raisins or chocolate chips and walnuts. Spoon small balls onto cookies sheets and press down with a fork. Makes 40 cookies. Bake at 350 for 9-11 minutes. Enjoy!

***These cookies actually came out pretty sweet for my taste and if I was trying to make a healthy cookie I would have reduced the brown sugar to 1/3 cup and I would have maybe substituted 1/4 cup applesauce for half of the butter. I didn’t want to make too many modifications because they were for my moms diet.

Mom’s cookies:

Katie’s Cookies:

In other news, there has been a blizzard in the Norheast and The Girls are not pleased.

This is Winnie, she is very winy and very desperate to go outside. They haven’t been out in 3 days.

What is this?


Not pleased with the cold feet. Runs back inside instantly.

Anyways, I have become a cat lady. No school, no work =talk to cats and bake cookies. Send help and cat booties.



One thought on “Oatmeal-Raisin Bites and The Girls

  1. Hahaha! I love that your cats hate the snow! Our dog hates going outside when it’s below 45 degrees out (which is all winter, haha). Anyway, you’ve got some cute kitties! And those cookies look yummy 🙂

Leave a Reply

